IWF has a proud history of bestowing the Barbara K. Olson Woman of Valor Award upon some of the most influential female leaders in the country, including most recently human rights activist Ayaan Hirsi Ali and Representative Marsha Blackburn, as well as Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Rep. Mary Bono Mack, Ambassador Nancy Brinker of Susan G. Komen for the Cure, the Honorable Condoleezza Rice, Secretary of the U.S. Department of State, the Honorable Elaine L. Chao, Secretary of the U.S. Department of Labor, and the Honorable Lynne V. Cheney, noted author, activist and Second Lady of the United States.  This year we are excited to honor Representative Barbara Comstock, Karen Wright, and Steve Forbes.


Woman of Valor - The Hon. Barbara Comstock was recently elected to Congress representing the people of Virginia’s 10th Congressional District. She is a defender of limited government and a wonderful role-model for women and girls. We value her work in particular with the “Young Women’s Leadership Program” that inspires women in junior high and high school to be the next generation of leaders. IWF is proud to honor her important work by presenting her with IWF’s Woman of Valor Award.  

Woman in Business - Karen Wright is President and CEO of Ariel Corporation, a natural gas compressor manufacturing company based in Mt. Vernon, Ohio. IWF applauds Ms. Wright for her remarkable work as a corporate leader, philanthropist, mother, and champion for limited government.  IWF is thrilled to present her with the Woman in Business Award.

Gentleman of Distinction - Steve Forbes is President and CEO of Forbes Media.  Because IWF is one of the few women’s groups that actually likes, values, and appreciates men, we are also including a new award this year that we are very excited about – the Gentleman of Distinction Award.  We are honoring Mr. Forbes for his remarkable work as a corporate leader, political candidate, philanthropist, father, and proponent of limited government.