September 23, 2014 Print

Phoenix-based Goldwater Institute was named one of eight finalists for this year’s prestigious Templeton Freedom Award for its work advancing Education Savings Accounts in Arizona and Florida. Unlike school vouchers, education savings accounts create the maximum possible choice for parents and opportunities for competition among government schools, private schools, and other education providers.

“We are humbled by the nomination, and feel grateful to be recognized for this impactful work,” said Darcy Olsen, President and CEO of Goldwater Institute. “When it comes to education, all doors should be open. Personal education savings accounts break down barriers and expand opportunity for all children regardless of family circumstances or background.”

Education savings accounts are portable bank accounts that families can use to purchase educational services of many kinds including private school tuition, online classes, supplemental tutoring, homeschool curriculum, dual college enrollment, and more. Unspent money in a savings account can be saved for future use including college tuition. Arizona became the first state to launch education savings accounts in mid-2011. And in 2014 Florida Gov. Rick Scott signed into law the country’s second education savings account program.

Awarded since 2004, the Templeton Freedom Award is named for the late investor and philanthropist Sir John Templeton. The award annually honors his legacy by identifying and recognizing the most exceptional and innovative contributions to the understanding of free enterprise, and the public policies that encourage prosperity, innovation and human fulfillment via free competition. The award is generously supported by Templeton Religion Trust and will be presented during Atlas Network’s Liberty Forum and Freedom Dinner gala dinner ceremony Nov. 13, 2014 in New York City. The winning organization will receive a $100,000 prize and the runners-up will receive $5,000.

The 2014 Templeton Freedom Award Finalists are:

Acton Institute: Acton University
CEPOS (Center For Political Studies): Private Property Project
Civismo: Low Taxes Campaign for Spain Campaign
Foundation For Government Accountability: Initiative to Limit Medicaid Expansion
Goldwater Institute: Education Savings Accounts
Illinois Policy Institute: Stopping an Unfair Progressive Income Tax
IPEA: One Million Youth for Mexico Campaign
Lithuanian Free Market Institute: Municipal Performance Index

The 2013 Templeton Freedom Award winner and finalists can be found here.

For media inquiries about the 2014 Templeton Freedom Award, contact Daniel Anthony.