April 2, 2015 Print

Innovation isn’t obvious. It takes a unique perspective to see the world in a new way and realize how changing a few variables could yield a significantly better outcome — and it takes resources to bring that vision to fruition. That’s why Sir John Templeton reached out to Atlas Network in 2003 to create an awards program that would provide an incentive for think tanks to venture into new areas and expand the horizons of the freedom movement.

The Templeton Freedom Award annually honors a think tank that has made an exceptional contribution to the understanding of free enterprise, and the public policies that encourage prosperity, innovation, and human fulfillment via free competition.

While we are happy to receive applications that focus on long-running projects, our judges will prioritize those applications that can document impact that has been achieved within the last two years. As such, eligible think tanks compete on the basis of whether one of its specific projects (or its larger body of work) has a demonstrable and measurable impact in the following areas:

  • Achieved strategic impact (in areas of policy impact, social impact, academic impact, media impact, student impact, etc.).
  • Made innovative contributions to the field of free enterprise education and policy research.
  • Laid the groundwork for future progress in improving countries’ scores in rankings of economic freedom (e.g., The Index of Economic Freedom or the Economic Freedom of the World report).

The 2015 application period opens on April 1 and runs through June 1. To be considered for a Templeton Freedom Award, organizations must complete the full application form.

The winner of the 2015 Templeton Freedom Award will receive $100,000 and be honored at the Atlas Freedom Dinner, which will next be held in New York City on November 12. Additional finalists will receive $5,000 prizes and travel support to attend the Freedom Dinner.

Learn more about the Templeton Freedom Award.

Read “Celebrating a decade of the Templeton Freedom Award.”