Free Societies

Atlas Network and Cátedra Vargas Llosa Announce “Young Journalism Prize 2022” Competition

Mario Vargas Llosa

Atlas Network and Cátedra Vargas Llosa are pleased to announce the Young Journalism Prize 2022 competition, a joint initiative that was inaugurated last year and now celebrates a second edition.

The project proposes to recognize and promote the values of Ibero-American journalism that are consistent with the ideas of liberty. A US$10,000 prize will be awarded to the article entry best characterized by excellence, journalistic rigor, ethical consistency, and a defense of liberty in the exercise of media journalism. The chair of the selection committee will again be filled by distinguished journalist and thought-leader Carlos Alberto Montaner.

Last year, Álvaro Vargas Llosa underscored the critical importance of this project: “We seek to recognize all varieties of journalism as independent cultural forms. This prize aims to stimulate younger generations to explore, with rigor and with imaginations, the narratives and stories that best exemplify the values of liberty.”

More information on the Atlas Network–Cátedra Vargas Llosa Young Journalism Prize is available here. Applications for the next award will be open beginning June 7.

The winner of the US$10,000 prize of this second annual contest will be announced at the Liberty Forum & Freedom Dinner, to be held November 14–16, 2022, in New York City. The winner of the first Young Journalism Prize in 2021 was Carla Gloria Colomé.

About Atlas Network

Atlas Network is a nonprofit organization that aims to secure for all individuals the rights to economic and personal freedom through its global network of strategic partners.

About Cátedra Vargas Llosa

Cátedra Vargas Llosa was established in 2011 with the purpose of promoting the study of contemporary literature, promoting interest in reading and writing, supporting the new Ibero-American literary creation, analyzing the ideas of our time and developing models of technological innovation for education, research and scientific and cultural dissemination, in addition to disseminating the work of Mario Vargas Llosa (Nobel Prize in Literature 2010).


Raúl Tola

Catedra Vargas Llosa

Logo Catedra